Jobs
Jobs is the main area of Jobs & Billing. Click Jobs and you will see the Open Jobs tab of the Jobs page. What you can see and do from here depends on your assigned security roles.
Jobs and Billing
Jobs is the main area of Jobs & Billing. Click Jobs and you will see the Open Jobs tab of the Jobs page. What you can see and do from here depends on your assigned security roles.
Use the Jobs page
The Jobs page (Jobs & Billing > Jobs) includes all jobs for the contacts to which you have access, depending on your security role, where applicable. Several tabs can be displayed: All Jobs, Open Jobs, Weekly View, My Ordered Jobs, Jobs Assigned to Me, Jobs I Worked on, Unallocated Jobs, In Progress, Completed and Closed Jobs.
Use the Jobs Tab
The information on jobs list is organized under tabs and accessed from the Jobs page. Some jobs may be listed under more than one tab. The security roles assigned to your user profile will determine which of these tabs you can see. The following information is categorized under the topics of junior staff (limited access) and senior staff (full access).
Use the Search tab
In the Jobs page, choose the desired filters for your search from the Search tab. 
Use the Job Details page
On the Jobs page, click a job to open up the Job Details page. The functions, buttons, links and information that are displayed on this page are determined by your user profile. If you require certain functions as part of your jobs and the data or links are not displayed on your screen, contact the admin user to request the relevant security roles. Make use of the right hand panel for quick and easy access to related pages. The command buttons and information panels, along with the required security roles, are described below.
Edit job details
Jobs will mostly be created as a recurring job or in bulk. Occasionally you may be required to edit job information, such as target end date, job details and budgets. We recommend that only a select few in your firm have access to editing jobs, so that you can better monitor changes when they occur. Editing jobs also allows you to edit the resource allocations, and you may not want staff members editing their allocations without prior approval.
Re-open a job
Occasionally you may be required to re-open a job, to create or delete an invoice or to edit allocations, or enter more timesheet entries.
Set up automatic job creation
Instead of having to re-create jobs manually once they have been completed, or closed, you can have jobs re-created automatically. Depending on your requirements you can have jobs automatically re-created when the job is completed or closed. CCH iFirm uses events in the system to trigger the recreation (when a job is completed or closed). If you have set up custom firm groups, then the firm groups allocated to the first job are passed on to the next job.
Add a job manually
You can create jobs in Jobs & Billing individually when new work comes in (for example, business development opportunities or other special work) in bulk (for example, all your annual accounts jobs at the beginning of the year) or as recurring jobs (for example, monthly jobs). Bulk-creating jobs and setting up recurring jobs will save you a lot of time and ensures that you do not forget to create jobs each month.
Add jobs in bulk
You can bulk-create any type of job and use the range of filters to select which clients the jobs will be created for. You can narrow the list of bulk-created jobs to specific fields, for example client type, or any dynamic fields you created in Contacts.
Update the job status
You can track who is currently responsible for his or her part of a job. This ensures that everyone working on a job knows when to do his or her part of it, and helps your firm complete jobs quicker. In order to track who is currently responsible for jobs, you need to activate the setting.
Update dynamic fields
You can access the WIP Transfer feature from the Job Details page, Work in Progress Centre or the Work In Progress Client Breakdown Report. There are three methods of WIP transfer to choose from.
Update currently responsible
You can track who is currently responsible for his or her part of a job. This ensures that everyone working on a job knows when to do his or her part of it, and helps your firm complete jobs quicker. In order to track who is currently responsible for jobs, you need to activate the setting.
Add job comments
You can use the Job Comments section of the Job Details page to view and record information about a job. For example, you may want to add a comment.
Jobs - Total WIP by Partner
Jobs - Total WIP by Partner
Close a job
When you close a job, you can make this effective from a date you select. Using the Effective Closing Date feature is ideal if you want to close your jobs on a date other than the current day. For instance, you might want to have a job closed at the end of the previous month. Alternatively, you might want to have the write-on or write-off for a job assigned to a particular period.
Change the target start or end date of a job
You can set the target start date and target end date for a job when you first manually add the job. The target start date and target end date of a job are used to define the number days a job will take to complete. This information, along with the number of days available in each month, is used to determine the proportion of allocated hours to assign to the relevant months in Capacity Planning. This is particularly useful for jobs that are worked on over multiple months. It gives you an accurate picture of the work plan.
Add a write-off or write-on transaction
Write-offs (ups) can be applied when a job is open and can also be applied during the invoicing process and on closing a job. The write-off process can begin with a fixed amount that you want to write-off, or you might build a write-off amount by selecting individual WIP items on the job. 
Set up recurring jobs
If you have jobs that repeat on a regular basis, such as Annual Accounts and Wages jobs, we recommend that you create recurring jobs in Contacts, so these jobs can be automatically created for you. You determine the cycle of the job, when it will be created, and the period ended and target end dates. This ensures that you always have relevant jobs open and ready for your clients, and saves you the time and effort to remember to create them manually.
Remove an unwanted job
You cannot delete unwanted jobs and jobs created in error. To remove such jobs, you have to edit and then close them. The process involves changing the job type to Cancel and removing some details, which ensures that the job can easily be identified and filtered out of reports.
Add Client notes
You can add information related to a job and this information will be stored in the Notes & Reminders tab of the client's record in Contacts.
Add a manual disbursement
You can create jobs in Jobs & Billing individually when new work comes in (for example, business development opportunities or other special work) in bulk (for example, all your annual accounts jobs at the beginning of the year) or as recurring jobs (for example, monthly jobs). Bulk-creating jobs and setting up recurring jobs will save you a lot of time and ensures that you do not forget to create jobs each month.